Ateneo, UP, La Salle off to winning start in UAAP men’s badminton

Ateneo, University of the Philippines and De La Salle won their respective men’s division openers Thursday in the UAAP Season 80 badminton tournament.

The Blue Eagles carved out a 4-1 win over Adamson University, while the Fighting Maroons posted a 5-0 shutout victory over University of the East.

The Green Archers lost their first two matches before storming back to beat University of Santo Tomas, 3-2, in the other opening day tie at the Rizal Memorial Badminton Hall.   

Singles players Carlo Remo, Clarence Filart and last season’s top rookie Keoni Asuncion as well as doubles aces Remo and Patrick The Eagles’ lone loss came from the second doubles of Filart and Sean Chan.

UP turned to JM Bernardo, CK Clemente and Vinci Manuel, who won their singles matches, as well as the pairs of Betong Pineda and Paul Gonzales, and Jolo Lunod and Michael Clemente, who swept their doubles matches.

Men’s champion NU, which went perfect in 27 ties dating back to 2014, drew opening day bye.

The Bulldogs begin their quest for a four-peat against the Fighting Maroons tomorrow at 8 a.m. at the same Malate venue.

UP, meanwhile, also drew a bye and will begin its foray for a women’s four-peat opposite La Salle at 1 p.m.tomorrow.

Opening ties in women’s division saw Ateneo, De La Salle beating UE,  Adamson University and UST by similar 5-0 scorelines.