Terrific 12 East Asia Super League to feature three PBA teams

Dennis Rodman on matchmaking Donald Trump and Kim Jong-un

Three of the top PBA teams in the recent 2019 Commissioner’s Cup are set to participate in the upcoming Terrific 12 East Asia Super League happening on September 17 to 22 in Macau.

The tournament features four teams from the Japanese B.League, three teams from the Chinese Basketball Association (CBA), two from the Korean Basketball League (KBL), and three from the PBA.

San Miguel and TNT will have a chance to rekindle their finals rivalry while Blackwater is set to join the fray as well after a remarkable showing last conference.

Other participating clubs include: the Shenzhen Aviators, Liaoning Flying Leopards and the Zhejiang Guangsha Lions from China; the Chiba Jets, Ryukyu Golden Kings,  Niigata Albirex, and the Utsunomiya Brex from Japan; and the Jeonju KCC Egis and the Seoul SK Knights from Korea.

Four groups will compose of three teams each where they’ll play in two preliminary games.

The top teams from each group will then advance to the semis and the winners over there can move on to the finals to compete for the championship.

The champions will get to bag home $150,000 while the second and third placers will win $100,000 and $50,000, respectively.

(Image from PBA)

RELATED — Lester Prosper relishes opportunity to play for SMB in Terrific 12

Can’t get enough of the latest sports action in the local and international scene? Join our Facebook Group Tagay Sports and hop in on the discussion with fellow passionate sports aficionados.