Record-tying 4th MVP within sight as Fajardo holds wide margin after elims

June Mar Fajardo is on track for a record-tying fourth league Most Valuable Player award after holding a sizeable lead over San Miguel Beer teammates Alex Cabagnot and Arwind Santos in the race for the PBA’s prestigious individual plum.

The 6-10 Fajardo amassed 38.4 statistical points at the close of the single-round eliminations to enjoy a huge lead over the left-handed Cabagnot, who is a distant 33.5 SPs.

GlobalPort’s high-scoring guard is at third spot with 32.0 SPs, while Santos, a 1-time MVP is at fourth (31.5) followed by TNT combo guard Jayson Castro (31.11).

Fajardo’s chances of winning a fourth straight PBA MVP award could get a big boost should San Miguel make it deep in the playoffs.

The Beermen, gunning for the franchise’s second Grand Slam, are set to face the twice-to-beat Barangay Ginebra Kings on Wednesday evening in their quarterfinal duel at the Mall of Asia Arena.

Legendary players Ramon Fernandez and Alvin Patrimonio are the only four-time MVP winners in league history. However, no player in the PBA’s 42-year history has won four straight MVP trophies.

Meantime, making it to the top 10 in the MVP race are Ginebra forward Japeth Aguilar (31.06), San Miguel’s Chris Ross (30.7), GlobalPort playmaker Stanley Pringle (30.6), Meralco sophomore wingman Chris Newsome (30.2) and Alaska’s Calvin Abueva (30.1).

Follow this writer on Twitter: @richava