June Mar Fajardo a cinch to win record 4th straight PBA MVP award

There seems to be no stopping June Mar Fajardo from winning a record four straight Most Valuable Player award as the 6-10 Cebuano slotman holds sizeable lead in the average statistical points in the MVP race for the 2017 PBA season.

At the close of the Governors’ Cup semifinals, the San Miguel top big man amassed 38.58 average statistical points to enjoy a huge lead over teammate Alex Cabagnot, who was a far second with 32.96 SPs.

The 27-year-old Fajardo, also a cinch to win a precedent-smashing sixth Best Player award this conference, can join the elite company of PBA legends Ramon Fernandez and Alvin Patrimonio as the only players to win 4 MVP trophies. But he could be the first PBA player to win four straight MVP awards if ever.

The PBA Leo Awards will be held next Friday, Oct. 20 just before Game 4 of the Finals between Ginebra and Meralco at the Smart Araneta Coliseum.

Meantime, GlobalPort’s high-scoring guard Terrence Romeo is at third spot in the race for this season’s MVP with 32.01, while TNT’s Jayson Castro isn’t far behind with 31.52. Another San Miguel player, Arwind Santos is at fifth spot in the race with 30.97.

As it is, there’s a strong possibility that three SMB players—Fajardo, Cabagnot and Santos could end up in the Mythical First team—with the trio having played major roles in the Beermen’s title conquests in the Philippine Cup and Commissioner’s Cup this season.

Fajardo in fact, won his record-tying fifth Best Player award in the Philippine Cup, while the left-handed Cabagnot was named Finals MVP in the second conference. The 6-4 Santos, meantime, remains a threat on both offense and defense for SMB this season and has always been a contender for the BPC also.

Another potential Mythical First team candidate is San Miguel’s Fil-American guard Chris Ross, who despite being in no. 8 in the MVP race with his 30.40 SPs, won his first BPC award for his career during the Commissioner’s Cup. The 6-2 Ross also earned his second Finals MVP during the Philippine Cup this season.

Meantime, completing the top 10 for the MVP race are Japeth Aguilar of Barangay Ginebra with 30.85, GlobalPort’s Stanley Pringle (30.63), Ross, Alaska forward Calvin Abueva (30.11) and SMB sharp shooting guard Marcio Lassiter (29.55).

Follow this writer on Twitter: @richava