ASEAN Basketball League holds 2019-2020 Season Launch

Kobe was “one of the greatest players to ever touch the floor” – Kevin Durant

The ASEAN Basketball League (ABL) held its 10th season on October 10, 11 AM (GMT +8) at the Conrad Hotel, Seaside Boulevard, Coral Way, Pasay, Manila. 


During the launch, the ten participating teams were unveiled as well as the top ten players of all time.


The teams that will be participating in the 10th season are Formosa Dreamers, Fubon Braves, Hong Kong Eastern, Macau Black Bears, Mono Vampire, Saigon Heat, San Miguel Alab Pilipinas, Singapore Slingers, Westports Malaysia Dragons, and Wolf Warriors. 


The Saigon Heat earned their first playoff victory on their home floor and has never missed the postseason for the last five years. 


The Singapore Slingers will be joined by Marcus Elliot together with last season’s MVP Xavier Alexander in hopes to win their first ABL title this season.


The Hong Kong Eastern will try a new coach Jordan Brady along with young imports TJ Price and Trey Kell.


Although, the Westports Malaysia Dragons are hoping to make a return in the playoffs after failing to qualify in the last three seasons of ABL.


The Macau Black Bears will try to replicate their success last season without the presence of Anthony Tucker.


After finishing the season in the last place, the Wolf Warriors sign ABL champion Steven Thomas as they try to turn their franchise around this season.


Former head coach of Saigon Heat Kyle Julius takes over coaching duties in Formosa Dreamers as they hope to build from last season’s success.


On the other hand, The Mono Vampire signed former Macau Black Bears Anthony Tucker and Ryan Watkins and welcomed new coach Andrej Urlep who was the former coach of Slovenia’s U22 team. 


For San Miguel Alab Pilipinas, the team signed former Mono Vampire player and Fil-Am guard Jason Brickman to play this season. 


After winning in the Super Basketball League, the Fubon Braves is ready to debut in the ASEAN Basketball League under coach Roger Hsu. 


Top 10 Players of All Time


2018-2019 Season Most Valuable Player Xavier Alexander was the first to be named as one of the All-Time-10 Players of all time.  


Followed by ABL great Leo Avenido and two-time finals MVP Jerick Cañada.


Chris Charles, Attaporn Lertmalaiporn, Bobby Ray Parks Jr., Steven Thomas, Wong Wei Long, and Mario Wuysang were also part of the top ten players. 


Bobby Ray Parks Jr., Marcus Elliot, Wong Wei Long, and Leo Avenido were not present to receive the award because of prior commitments. 


The 2019-2020 season is set to start in November. 


Photo credit: ABL website