Lester Alvarez drops 24 points in finale to claim All-Star three-point crown

Lester Alvarez of the Bulacan Kuyas shot the lights out and claimed the 2019-20 Chooks-to-Go/MPBL Lakan All-Star three-point crown at the Mall of Asia Arena, Thursday.

Alvarez used a perfect third rack en route to a whopping 24 points in the finale to outlast James Martinez of Nueva Ecija (20 points) and Bicol’s Jerome Garcia (17 points).

“Expected ko si James talaga kasi siya parati sa three points. Ako lang sinwerte. Nagusap kami, sino suwertehin. Eventually ako yung sinwerte,” shared Alvarez.

“Kung nashoot pa niya yung moneyball sa dulo, tabla pa kami. Kahit last rack, di ako kampante. ‘Di ako makapaniwala,” the Adamson University product added.

The one-time MPBL champion also received a cash prize of PHP 50,000 in the event.

Mikey Williams of General Santos-Burlington tied Garcia in the first round as they both tallied 19 points. Garcia, however, booted out Williams in the tiebreaker with 14 points compared to the latter’s 12.

San Juan’s John Wilson and Mikee Cabahug of Navotas both had 18 points apiece while Rocky Acidre of Bacoor and Rizal’s Jordan Rios tallied 15 points apiece.

Zamboanga’s Anton Asistio converted 13 shots while Rhaffy Octobre of Cebu had 12 points. Meanwhile, Robin Roño of Zamboanga and Bacoor’s Mark Pangilinan had eight and seven points, respectively.

The participants were handed a consolation prize of PHP 10,000 each.

In last year’s event, Gary David of Bataan bested Wilson, Martinez, Chris Bitoon, James Martinez, and GJ Ylagan to win the title.