MPBL All-Star Polls: Eguilos now leads starting center spot for South

Shaquille O’Neal goes wild in mosh pit at Tomorrowland

IT’S now Jhaymo Eguilos’ turn to make his presence felt in the MPBL All-Star polls.

The premier front-liner of the Batangas City Athletics had already overtaken Felix Apreku as the front runner in the starting center spot for the South All-Star team, which will play the North side on March 2 at the Mall of Asia Arena.

As of 9 a.m. of February 19, the 6-foot-5 Eguilos had compiled a total of 1,411 votes from the fans, overtaking Felix Apreku of the Muntinlupa Cagers.

Apreku’s teammate, Allan Mangahas, however, continued to pull away and remained as the top vote receiver among any other player in the Southern division.

The starting guard of the Cagers had put up 1,614 votes while joining him in the other guard spot voted by fans as starters is celebrity baller Gerald Anderson of the Marikina Shoemasters with 1,459.

In the race among forwards, Mark Yee of the Davao Occidental Tigers pulled away further with 1,561, more than 200 points ahead on Gab Banal of the Bacoor Strikers, who joined him in the starting forward spots for the time being with 1,243 votes.

(Here’s the breakdown of the voting for the South All-Stars as of 9 a.m., February 19.)

Over at the North All-Stars, Mike Ayonayon is now pulling away from the rest of the bidders among guards. The high-leaping guard of the San Juan Knights garnered 1,835 votes, the highest voter among any other player in the ongoing polls.

He is joined in the starting guard spot by Gary David of the Bataan Risers.

Aris Dionisio of the Manila Stars leads the way among forwards in the North All-Stars with 1,543 votes followed by Larry Rodriguez of San Juan with 1,132.

But with Ayonayon now getting more votes than his teammate, Rodriguez will be scratched from the selection for the time being and will need to pave the way for the third highest vote receiver among forwards in the South and that is Cedric Ablaza of the Makati Super Crunch, who got 1,120 votes.

Only one player per team will be included in the 13-man roster playing for the North and the South.  The starting five will be selected by fans, but the coaches who will handle both squads will be given the free hand to choose their remaining eight players in this event supported by LGR, the official outfitter of the MPBL All-Star Game.

Jojo Lastimosa of the Bataan Risers will call the shots for the North All-Stars while his counterpart will be Don Dulay of the Davao Occidental Tigers. Both coaches will be assisted by the mentors of the second seeded squads in their respective divisions.

JR Taganas of the Bulacan Kuyas continued to dominate the starting center spot for the North with 1,334 votes.

(Here’s the breakdown of the North All-Stars voting as of 9 a.m. Feb 19).

Watch all three FOX Sports channels live on the FOX+ app. For more info on FOX+, click here or to start your free 30 day trial, download the FOX+ app.