UFC 197: Jones defeats Saint Preux

UFC 241: Paulo Costa beats Yoel Romero via Unanimous Decision in Fight of the Year candidate

Jon Jones won the interim Light-Heavyweight UFC title via a unanimous point’s decision over Ovince Saint Preux at UFC 197 on Saturday night at MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas.

This was Jones’ first bout since he was suspended for 15 months and stripped of his title by the UFC after being arrested for a hit-and-run incident in April 2014.

In the fight, Jones did not overly impress and started very slowly though he did improve over the last two rounds to get the decision but was far from his former best when he was regarded by many as the greatest pound-for-pound fighter around.

But he managed to get the win and was given the decision by the judges, who scored the fight 50-44, 50-45, 50-44 in Jones favour.

In another main card fight, Demetrious Johnson defended his flyweight title for the eighth consecutive time by defeating in one round via a technical knockout after landing a crushing left punch.

Main card results:
Jon Jones def. Ovince Saint Preux via unanimous decision
Demetrious Johnson def. Henry Cejudo via first-round TKO
Robert Whittaker def. Rafael Natal via unanimous decision
Edson Barboza def. Anthony Pettis via unanimous decision
Yair Rodriguez def. Andre Fili via second-round KO

Undercard results:
Sergio Pettis def. Chris Kelades via unanimous decision
Walt Harris def. Cody East via first-round TKO
Carla Esparza def. Juliana Lima via unanimous decision
James Vick def. Glaico Franca via unanimous decision
Marcos Rogerio de Lima def. Clint Hester via sub
Kevin Lee def. Efrain Escudero via unanimous decision
Danny Roberts def. Dominique Steele via unanimous decision