Peru dump Brazil out of Copa America with controversial goal

Mats Hummels – Borussia Dortmund Homecoming

Brazil were sensationally dumped out of the Copa America Centenary tournament Sunday night, losing 1-0 to Peru courtesy of a controversial winning goal.

Peru substitute Raul Ruidiaz scored what turned out to be the winner in the 75th minute, clearly using his hand to knock Andy Polo’s cross into an empty net.

Brazilian goalkeeper Alisson and his defenders immediately raised their hands to signal a handball while the Peruvian players began to celebrate.

The two groups of players then surrounded referee Andres Cunha and his assistant as they discussed the incident.

After a lengthy period of deliberation, Cunha signalled that the goal would stand to the dismay of the Brazil players.

Speaking after the game, Ruidiaz told a pitchside reporter that he couldn’t understand what all the fuss was about.

“The goal came from a very rapid play, then it hit my thigh, and I don’t understand why there’s so much controversy,” he said. “Thank God, the referee confirmed the goal.”

The victory was enough to lift Peru to the top of Group B with seven points, while leaving Brazil in third place behind Peru and Ecuador, who earlier beat Haiti 4-0.

The controversial defeat marks the first time Brazil have failed to advance from the group stages of Copa America since 1987.