Shock AFF Suzuki Cup omission for Malaysia trio

Formula One stars play football in Monaco

Malaysia boss Ong Kim Swee has produced a major shock with his AFF Suzuki Cup squad selection after leaving out Izham Tarmizi Roslan, Fazly Mazlan and Azrif Nasrulhaq.

The Johor Darul Ta’zim trio (JDT) were all expected to be fixtures in the starting XI for next month’s tournament, yet they weren’t even included in the provisional 26-man squad announced.

Izham, Fazly and Azrif have been among the few positives for Malaysia over recent months, but they will join recently retired JDT quintet Safiq Rahim, Aidil Zafuan, Abdul Radzak, S Kunanlan and Amirul Hadi Zainal on the sidelines.

The only JDT players included in the squad are reserves Fadhli Shas, Safee Sali and Amri Yahyah, with the latter named as captain.

The Malaysian squad will participate in a three-day camp in Port Dickson on the eve of the competition before a friendly against Papua New Guinea on November 14.

Their first group game at the AFF Suzuki Cup will be with qualifiers Cambodia on November 20, before remaining matches against Myanmar and Vietnam to secure a place in the knock-out stages.

Malaysia squad: Khairul Fahmi Che Mat, Khairul Azhan Khalid, Hafizul Hakim Khairul Nizam Jothy, Shahrul Saad, Nazirul Naim, Fadhli Shas, Ronny Harun, Matthew Davies, Ahmad Khuzaimi Piee, Khairul Helmi Johari, Shahrom Kalam, Nasir Basaruddin, Irfan Fazail, Zaquan Adha Abdul Radzak, Ahmad Fakri Saarani, Hadin Azman, Safawi Rasid, Baddrol Bakhtiar, Rizal Ghazali, Syazwan Zainon, S. Veenod, Darren Lok, Amri Yahyah, Safee Sali, Ahmad Hazwan Bakri, Norshahrul Idlan Talaha.