Is the balance of power shifting in the AFC Cup?

Highlights – Abahani Limited Dhaka vs 4.25 SC

When Johor Darul Ta’zim lifted last season’s AFC Cup in Tajikistan, it was almost an anomaly in the brief history of the competition.

The domination of west Asian clubs had been so overwhelming over the previous 11 years that Johor looked like gate-crashers, who hadn’t read the script correctly.

And in some ways that was correct, give that JDT were only in the final because the suspension of the Kuwaiti FA lead to the elimination of Al-Qadsia and Al-Kuwait, both who had substantial leads from the semifinal first legs.

Nevertheless, JDT won and their name will be etched on the trophy for ever.

This year it is Bengaluru FC’s turn to represent east Asian football, and have a shot at lifting the trophy for East Asia for the second season on the spin.

Obviously the change in format this year that separates East and West zone teams until the final is a help, as it guarantees an East Asian side a spot in the final each year.

Pitting the best side in the East and West zones against each other in the final certainly presents the East with a better chance of claiming the top prize each year.

But is the balance of power changing?

It is still far too early to say, but if Bengaluru come out on top this year then it could signal the start of something.

Prior to last season, the five countries where the winners had emerged from were Kuwait, Jordan, Syria, Bahrain and Uzbekistan.

Kuwait have been the most successful nation in the tournament, with Al-Kuwait three time winners.

But perhaps Johor’s success has opened the flood-gates for east Asian sides and could inspire others, helping the East to enjoy a similar period of dominance.

Certainly, the attention which will follow Bengaluru’s bid for glory this weekend will only be beneficial to the Indian clubs looking to follow in their footsteps.

Ultimately, greater competition throughout the Continent will only benefit the tournament as a whole. It should be decided by the best teams throughout the whole of Asia, not just one half.

2004 – Al Jaish

2005 – Al-Faisaly

2006 – Al-Faisaly

2007 – Shabab Al-Ordon

2008 – Al-Muharraq

2009 – Al-Kuwait

2010 – Al-Ittihad

2011 – FC Nasaf

2012 – Al-Kuwait

2013 – Al-Kuwait

2014 – Al-Qadsia

2015 – Johor Darul Ta’zim

Editorial Disclaimer: The opinions expressed within this article are the personal opinions of the author. The facts and opinions appearing in this article do not necessarily reflect the views or official policies of Fox Network Group Singapore Pte. Ltd. or any entity that directly or indirectly controls, is controlled by or is under common control of Twenty First Century Fox Inc. (collectively, “FNG”). FNG makes no representations as to the accuracy, completeness, correctness, suitability, or validity of any information or opinions within this article. FNG will not be liable for any errors or omissions in this information or opinions or for any losses, injuries, or damages arising from its publication.