Cahill still fuming at ‘offside’ Alexis goal

Chelsea defender Gary Cahill is adamant that Alexis Sanchez was offside when he opened the scoring for Arsenal in Saturday’s FA Cup final.

The Chilean found the net after just four minutes at Wembley, but an apparent handball from Alexis in the build-up, along with Aaron Ramsey standing offside, has left the Blues centre-back feeling hard done by.

"Of course, we are disappointed," Cahill said. "It is fresh in the mind and it is not a nice feeling.

"The offside rule is crazy. I spoke to a referee the other day, I forgot which game I was playing in but the ball got played through and the striker was offside. 

"It is a bizarre rule but nevertheless, forget the offside, for me I thought it was very lucky to not be given as a handball. When your arms are up near your face it is an unnatural positions to be in. So yes it should have been handball."

Despite controversy regarding the opener, Cahill admits that the Gunners were on the front foot in the early stages against an out-of-sorts Blues side.

"You never know in football if they are going to come out and start nervy because it is a final, or they start with the bit between their teeth. They showed hunger in the first 15-20 minutes so credit to them for that.

"The disappointment for us was that we didn't play with the same intensity levels in the first half that we have been playing with all season.

"We looked slightly off the pace and it is unlike us. We are normally quick and strong and we normally build fast and everything was a little bit laboured."

Comments