World Cup Team Preview: Portugal

Infantino thanks Russia for hosting ‘best World Cup ever’

Portugal will be looking to repeat their success of Euro 2016 when they begin their World Cup campaign in Group B, which also consists of Spain, Iran and Morocco.

All eyes will be on Cristiano Ronaldo as the Selecao make their fifth successive appearance at the global showpiece, expecting to battle it out with La Furia Roja for the top spot in the group.

Fernando Santos’ side booked their place at the World Cup as Group B winners in the qualifiers but needed a win in their last match against Switzerland to secure their ticket to Russia.

The Portuguese scored 32 goals during the qualifying campaign, with Cristiano Ronaldo supplying 15 of them.

Since winning the European Championship two years ago, they have lost just three times in 22 matches and also finished in third in the Confederations Cup last year.

The tournament in Russia could be the last for Ronaldo, who is missing just a World Cup winners’ medal to complete his impressive collection of accolades.

Portugal will also be looking to make up for the disappointment of Brazil 2014, where they were knocked out in the group stage. Their best performance at the tournament came at Germany 2006 when they lost in the semi-finals.


Goalkeepers: Anthony Lopes (Lyon/France), Beto (Goztepe/Turkey), Rui Patricio (Sporting CP/Portugal).

Defenders: Antunes (Getafe/Spain), Bruno Alves (Rangers/Scotland), Cedric (Southampton/England), Joao Cancelo (Inter Milan/Italy), Jose Fonte (Dalian Aerbin/China), Luis Neto (Fenerbahce/Turkey), Mario Rui (Napoli/Italy), Nelson Semedo (Barcelona/Spain), Pepe (Besiktas/Turkey), Raphael Guerreiro (Borussia Dortmund/Germany), Ricardo (FC Porto/Portugal), Rolando (Marseille/France), Ruben Dias (Benfica/Portugal).

Midfielders: Adrien Silva (Leicester City/England), Andre Gomes (Barcelona/Spain), Bernardo Silva (Manchester City/England), Bruno Fernandes (Sporting CP/Portugal), Joao Mario (West Ham/England), Joao Moutinho (Monaco/France), Manuel Fernandes (Lokomotiv Moscow/Russia), Rony Lopes (Monaco/France), Ruben Neves (Wolves/England), Sergio Oliveira (FC Porto/Portugal), William (Sporting CP/Portugal).

Forwards: Andre Silva (Milan/Italy), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid/Spain), Eder (Lokomotiv Moscow/Russia), Gelson Martins (Sporting CP/Portugal), Goncalo Guedes (Valencia/Spain), Nani (Lazio/Italy), Paulinho (Braga/Portugal), Ricardo Quaresma (Besiktas/Turkey).