Golfer breaks putter against head

’14 was the killer’ – Disappointed Open runner-up Fleetwood

Zac Blair broke his putter after slamming it against his head and was subsequently disqualified from the Wells Fargo Championship.

In the second round on Friday, Blair watched in agony as his birdie putt sailed on past the hole on the fifth hole at Quail Hollow.

In frustration, he smacked the shaft of his putter against his head. The act wasn’t an issue, but the fact that he tapped in for par with the bent club afterwards was…and he was subsequently disqualified.

Rule 4-3b states: “If, during a stipulated round, a player’s club is damaged other than in the normal course of play rendering it non-conforming or changing its playing characteristics, the club must not subsequently be used or replaced during the round.”

Blair explained himself on twitter, then made light of the incident by posting some jokes, including an old clip of Woody Austin doing the same thing in 1997.