Davies secures emphatic Imola double

Chaz Davies made it a perfect weekend on Sunday as he stormed to his second victory in as many days at the Italian circuit of Imola.

The Welshman sprung to the front from pole position and never looked back as he led from flag to flag providing Ducati with a perfect weekend themselves at what is seen as a home circuit for the Bologna outfit.

Davies opened up a three-second gap with nine laps remaining with relative ease ahead of Kawasaki duo Jonathan Rea and Tom Sykes as the British pair fought for second in Davies’ wake.

Sykes, though, failed to match his team-mate with Rea holding him at bay by over half a second throughout denying what could’ve been an intriguing final few laps.

With the Yorkshireman unable to mount an attack on the reigning world champion Rea took second but not without incident as he lost both feet off the Kawasaki’s foot pegs through the final chicane with seven laps to go.

Davies’ Ducati team-mate Davide Giugliano grabbed fourth to add to the Italian’s success at the circuit last season with Leon Camier coming home in fifth.

Suzuki’s Alex Lowes matched his best finish of the season in sixth with Jordi Torres and Nicky Hayden following on in seventh and eighth respectively.

Full Race Two results:

Chaz Davies GBR Aruba.it Racing Ducati 1199R 19 laps
2. Jonathan Rea GBR Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R 4.262s
3. Tom Sykes GBR Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R 4.604s
4. Davide Giugliano ITA Aruba.it Racing Ducati 1199R 13.093s
5. Leon Camier GBR MV Agusta RC F4 RR 16.250s
6. Alex Lowes GBR PATA Crescent Yamaha R1 20.078s
7. Jordi Torres ESP Althea BMW S1000RR 23.622s
8. Nicky Hayden USA Honda Racing CBR1000RR 26.803s
9. Michael van der Mark NED Honda Racing CBR1000RR 28.577s
10. Xavi Fores ESP Barni Ducati 1199R 32.630s
11. Lorenzo Savadori ITA IodaRacing Aprilia RSV4 34.669s
12. Markus Reiterberger GER Althea BMW S1000RR 38.244s
13. Josh Brookes AUS Milwaukee BMW S1000RR 41.100s
14. Alex de Angelis RSM IodaRacing Aprilia RSV4 72.823s
15. Dominic Schmitter SUI Grillini Kawasaki ZX-10R 115.258s
16. Saeed al Sulaiti QAT Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R 1 lap
17. Pawel Szkopek POL Team Toth Yamaha R1 1 laps

Matteo Baiocco ITA VFT Ducati 1199R 11 laps completed
Karel Abraham CZE Milwaukee BMW S1000RR 1 lap completed
Gianluca Vizziello ITA Go Eleven Kawasaki ZX-10R 1 lap completed
Josh Hook AUS Grillini Kawasaki ZX-10R 1 lap completed