Sykes does it again at Donington

Tom Sykes' love affair with Donington Park continued on Saturday as he followed up his pole position with a victory in Race 1, his seventh win at the British track.

Pole-sitter Sykes, chasing his fourth Donington Park double, was pipped to the holeshot by Chaz Davies while Davide Guigliano lined up third ahead of Jonathan Rea.

Within three laps it was a Ducati 1-2 as Guigliano slipped up the inside of Sykes who a lap later was down to fourth as his team-mate also overtook him.

With the leaders dropping Lorenzo Savadori, it became a four-rider fight for the victory and the remaining podium positions.

Ducati had the best of the early running as Davies held off his team-mate, however, it came to nought as the championship hopeful crashed on lap 6 as his Panigale fell away from him through the corner. He remounted but was down in 16th place.

Three laps later Rea was in trouble as he made a mistake and ran off the track, across the gravel and gravel trap. He kept the bike upright and rejoined in fourth place, which was almost immediately third as he attacked Savadori.

Meanwhile Sykes was finding his pace again and closed right up on Giugliano as they battled for the lead. He was three-tenths down midway through the 23-lap Donington race and, after two failed attempts, finally made his bid for P1 stick on lap 18 as he out-braked Guigliano.

The Kawasaki rider raced to the victory by 2.869 seconds over the Racing rider.

Rea, who had another off-track excursion, completed the podium ahead of Leon Camier and Nicky Hayden, who won the last race in Malaysia for Honda.

Savadori dropped to sixth place, finishing ahead of Jordi Torres, Michael van der Mark and Karel Abraham. Anthony West completed the top ten.

Davies was not able to recover as he crashed again on lap 15, this time out for good. He trails Rea by 58 points in the championship.

South Africa's Sheridan Morias did not take part in the race having withdrawn following a heavy crash in FP3.

Alex Lowes also did not take part as he was declared unfit, still suffering with pain from his broken collarbone.

1. Tom Sykes Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R 23 laps
2. Davide Giugliano Racing Ducati 1199R +2.869
3. Jonathan Rea Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R 9.808
4. Leon Camier MV Agusta RC F4 RR 13.747
5. Nicky Hayden Honda Racing CBR1000RR 14.007
6. Lorenzo Savadori IodaRacing Aprilia RSV4 14.640
7. Jordi Torres Althea BMW S1000RR 16.337
8. Michael van der Mark Honda Racing CBR1000RR 16.535
9. Karel Abraham Milwaukee BMW S1000RR 36.874
10. Anthony West Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R 39.074
11. Markus Reiterberger Althea BMW S1000RR 41.144
12. Xavi Fores Barni Ducati 1199R 41.275
13. Roman Ramos GO Eleven Kawasaki ZX-10R 48.094
14. Josh Brookes Milwaukee BMW S1000RR 50.125
15. Dominic Schmitter Grillini Kawasaki ZX-10R 78.008
16. Pawel Szkopek Team Toth Yamaha R1 89.605
17. Saeed al Sulaiti Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R 1 lap
18. Imre Toth Team Toth Yamaha R1 2 laps
Did not finish
Luca Scassa VFT Ducati 1199R 18 laps completed
Chaz Davies Racing Ducati 1199R 16 laps completed
Alex de Angelis IodaRacing Aprilia RSV4 15 laps competed
Matthieu Lussiana Team ASPI BMW S1000RR 12 laps completed
Cameron Beaubier PATA Crescent Yamaha R1 0 laps completed