Sykes grabs Misano pole with lap record

Tom Sykes topped a Kawasaki 1-2 in Saturday's qualifying as he set a new lap record, a 1:34.037, around the Misano circuit.

There was a delayed start to Saturday's Superpole 2 as marshals cleaned the track after Saeed al Sulaiti's engine failure in SP1 brought that session to a premature end.

Once underway championship leader Jonathan Rea set the early pace with a 1:35.402 while his Kawasaki team-mate Sykes lined up in second place, 0.010s off the pace. Xavi Fores was third.

Switching to the qualifying rubber for their second run, Davide Giugliano, who had gone down on his first hot lap in SP2, posted a 1:34.826.

That, though, did not keep him at the top for very long.

Sykes emerged as the fastest of all around the 4.2-kilometre track with a 1:34.037, a new lap record.

Rea qualified second, 0.220s down on his team-mate, while Fores was third. The Ducati rider finished half a second down on Sykes' best.

Alex Lowes, Lorenzo Savadori, who topped the timesheets in SP1, and Nicky Hayden will make up the second row of the grid ahead of Giugliano, Leon Camier and Chaz Davies.

1 Tom Sykes Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R 1:34.037
2 Jonathan Rea Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R 1:34.257
3 Xavi Fores Barni Ducati 1199R 1:34.623
4 Alex Lowes PATA Crescent Yamaha R1 1:34.641
5 Lorenzo Savadori IodaRacing Aprilia RSV4 1:34.694
6 Nicky Hayden Honda Racing CBR1000RR 1:34.707
7 Davide Giugliano Racing Ducati 1199R 1:34.826
8 Leon Camier MV Agusta RC F4 RR 1:35.047
9 Chaz Davies Racing Ducati 1199R 1:35.097
10 Michael van der Mark Honda Racing CBR1000RR 1:35.108
11 Markus Reiterberger Althea BMW S1000RR 1:35.115
12 Jordi Torres Althea BMW S1000RR 1:36.014
13 Anthony West Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R 1:35.765
14 Roman Ramos GO Eleven Kawasaki ZX-10R 1:36.328
15 Niccolò Canepa PATA Crescent Yamaha R1 1:36.335
16 Josh Brookes Milwaukee BMW S1000RR 1:37.314
17 Fabio Menghi VFT Ducati 1199R 1:38.143
18 Dominic Schmitter Grillini Kawasaki ZX-10R 1:38.238
19 Karel Abraham Althea BMW S1000RR 1:38.380
20 Peter Sebesteyen Team Toth Yamaha R1 1:38.446
21 Saeed al Sulaiti Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R 1:38.813
22 Pawel Szkopek Team Toth Yamaha R1 1:38.975
23 Gianluca Vizziello Kawasaki ZX-10R 1:39.171
24 Alex de Angelis IodaRacing Aprilia RSV4 1:42.023