Rea holds off Sykes for Misano win

Jonathan Rea extended his lead in the riders' championship to 61 points as he held off Tom Sykes to win Race 1 in Misano by a tenth of a second.

Kawasaki team-mates Rea and Sykes engaged in their own personal battle for the victory at Misano with the reigning Champ grabbing the lead off pole-sitter Sykes on the opening lap.

The duo pulled away from the chasing pack, which was led by Michael van der Mark, as Kawasaki's title rival Chaz Davies had a poor start and had only managed to work his way back up to P5 midway through the race.

At the front Rea maintained a lead of roughly two-tenths over his team-mate as for every lap he pulled away by a tenth, Sykes would draw him back in the following lap as they matched one another in lap times.

With four to go Rea ran it a slightly wide into the first corner giving Sykes a glimmer of hope. However, in the end he could do nothing to close those final metres between himself and Rea who raced to the victory by 0.090 seconds ahead.

Rea extended his lead in the championship to 61 points over Sykes.

Van der Mark picked up his fifth podium finish of this season ahead of Davies, Jordi Torres and Markus Reiterberger.

Niccolo Canepa, Leon Camier, Roman Ramos and Anthony West completed the top ten.

Davide Giugliano made a flying start but it came to naught on Lap 2 when he crashed out. He did remount – as he did in the morning's qualifying – and recovered to 14th.

Retirements from the race included Lorenzo Savadori, Nicky Hayden, Karel Abraham and Xavi Fores.

1 Jonathan Rea Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R 21 laps
2 Tom Sykes Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R +0.090
3 Michael van der Mark Honda Racing CBR1000RR 3.093
4 Chaz Davies Racing Ducati 1199R 5.878
5 Jordi Torres Althea BMW S1000RR 15.955
6 Markus Reiterberger Althea BMW S1000RR 18.200
7 Niccolò Canepa PATA Crescent Yamaha R1 19.385
8 Leon Camier MV Agusta RC F4 RR 19.918
9 Roman Ramos GO Eleven Kawasaki ZX-10R 26.272
10 Anthony West Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R 32.593
11 Josh Brookes Milwaukee BMW S1000RR 36.825
12 Alex de Angelis IodaRacing Aprilia RSV4 37.084
13 Alex Lowes PATA Crescent Yamaha R1 38.181
14 Davide Giugliano Racing Ducati 1199R 41.201
15 Pawel Szkopek Team Toth Yamaha R1 80.992
16 Peter Sebesteyen Team Toth Yamaha R1 81.783
17 Dominic Schmitter Grillini Kawasaki ZX-10R 84.623
18 Fabio Menghi VFT Ducati 1199R 85.068
19 Saeed al Sulaiti Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R 91.041
20 Gianluca Vizziello Kawasaki ZX-10R 1 lap
Did not finish
Xavi Fores Barni Ducati 1199R 4 laps
Karel Abraham Althea BMW S1000RR 12 laps
Lorenzo Savadori IodaRacing Aprilia RSV4 20 laps
Nicky Hayden Honda Racing CBR1000RR 21 laps