Dovi claims Assen pole as title rivals falter

Andrea Dovizioso will start the Dutch TT from pole position after beating Valentino Rossi in a wet qualifying session at the Assen circuit.

On a wet Saturday afternoon at Assen, MotoGP's qualifying got underway following a crash-strewn final practice.

Marc Marquez had shown his prowess in the wet, seven-tenths up on his nearest rival, and had hoped to carry that pace through into qualifying.

The Spaniard instead went down at Turn 8, grabbed a photographer's scooter, and high-tailed it back to the pits for his second RC213V.

While Marquez scrambled, Dovizioso was leading the fight for pole position with a 1:47.638.

With three minutes to go he was P1 ahead of Yonny Hernandez and Pol Espargaro, both of whom had to come through Q1.

Marquez finally made it out and slotted into fourth place on his second flying lap but it was Dovizioso who had the pace to go P1.

The Ducati rider crossed the line with a 1:45.246 to edge Rossi by 0.715s while Scott Redding was third, 1.066s off the pace.

Marquez was fourth ahead of Cal Crutchlow and Hernandez while Jorge Lorenzo was down in 11th place, 2.6s off the pace.

Maverick Vinales, who went down at Turn 5 as he crashed on his out-lap, qualified P12.

Meanwhile Hector Barbera, Jack Miller and Michele Pirro all crashed in Q1 and will line up 13th, 19th and 21st respectively.

The big shock, though, was Dani Pedrosa.

The Honda rider had to contest Q1 and finished sixth fastest in the session. As such he will line up P16 on the Assen grid.

1 Andrea DOVIZIOSO Ducati Team 1'45.246    
2 Valentino ROSSI Movistar Yamaha MotoGP 1'45.961 0.715
3 Scott REDDING OCTO Pramac Yakhnich 1'46.312 1.066
4 Marc MARQUEZ Repsol Honda Team 1'46.430 1.184
5 Cal CRUTCHLOW LCR Honda 1'46.568 1.322
6 Yonny HERNANDEZ Aspar Team MotoGP 1'46.828 1.582
7 Pol ESPARGARO Monster Yamaha Tech 3 1'46.997 1.751
8 Aleix ESPARGARO Team SUZUKI ECSTAR 1'47.118 1.872
9 Andrea IANNONE Ducati Team 1'47.567 2.321
10 Danilo PETRUCCI OCTO Pramac Yakhnich 1'47.601 2.355
11 Jorge LORENZO Movistar Yamaha MotoGP 1'47.897 2.651
12 Maverick VIÑALES Team SUZUKI ECSTAR 1'48.415 3.169
13 Hector BARBERA Avintia Racing 1'48.830
14 Bradley SMITH Monster Yamaha Tech 3 1'48.909
15 Alvaro BAUTISTA Aprilia Racing Team Gresini 1'49.163
16 Dani PEDROSA Repsol Honda Team 1'49.364
17 Eugene LAVERTY Aspar Team MotoGP 1'49.678
18 Stefan BRADL Aprilia Racing Team Gresini 1'49.685
19  Jack MILLER Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS 1'49.775
20 Tito RABAT Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS 1'49.779
21 Michele PIRRO Avintia Racing    Ducati 1'50.204