Rea tops FP2, but Davies remains fastest

Colin Cowherd knows exactly how No. 3 Notre Dame and No. 12 Syracuse will end on Saturday

Jonathan Rea went fastest in the second practice session at Laguna Seca, yet Chaz Davies set the pace on the opening day in California.

A lap of 1m 23.436s at the end of the session saw Kawasaki’s Rea go fastest in the afternoon session, yet on the combined times, he was pipped by Davies’ Ducati by a margin of just 0.0011s.

Eugene Laverty – second quickest in the morning session – had initially set the pace, before a crash from Honda’s Stefan Bradl saw the first of two red flags bring a temporary end to the racing.

Championship leader Rea was second quickest behind Rea, before Marco Melandri went clear in top spot with a lap of 1m23.778s.

With just three minutes remaining on the clock, FP2 was halted yet again after WorldSBK debutant Jake Gagne crashed on the same corner as Bradl.

It prompted a mad dash at the end of the session, with Rea going fastest ahead of Melandri and Laverty.

Tom Sykes was fifth fastest after a 1m24.242s in the dying seconds, while Alex Lowes – who was another faller at Turn Three – finished in eighth overall.

Combined fastest times from FP1 and FP2

  1. Chaz Davies GBR Racing Ducati 1m23.425s
  2. Jonathan Rea GBR Kawasaki Racing 1m23.436s
  3. Marco Melandri    ITA Racing 1m23.778s
  4. Eugene Laverty    IRE Milwaukee Aprilia 1m24.098s
  5. Tom Sykes GBR Kawasaki Racing 1m24.242s
  6. Xavi Fores ESP Barni Racing 1m24.253s
  7. Leon Camier GBR MV Agusta Reparto Corse 1m24.283s
  8. Alex Lowes GBR Pata Yamaha 1m24.330s
  9. Jordi Torres ESP Althea BMW Racing 1m24.388s
  10. Alex De Angelis    SMR Pedercini Racing 1m24.626s
  11. Leandro Mercado ARG IodaRacing 1m24.670s
  12. Raffaele De Rosa ITA Althea BMW Racing 1m24.713s
  13. Michael van der Mark NED Pata Yamaha 1m24.755s
  14. Stefan Bradl GER Red Bull Honda 1m24.928s
  15. Roman Ramos ESP GoEleven 1m25.279s
  16. Lorenzo Savadori ITA Milwaukee Aprilia    1m25.421s
  17. Jake Gagne USA Red Bull Honda World Superbike 1m25.618s
  18. Ayrton Badovini ITA Grillini Racing 1m25.835s
  19. Randy Krummenacher SWI Kawasaki Puccetti Racing 1m26.009s
  20. Jakub Smrz ITA Guandalini Racing 1m26.448s
  21. Ondrej Jezek CZE Grillini Racing 1m26.836s