Marquez wins in the wet at Misano

Marc Marquez put in a late pass on Danilo Petrucci to claim the victory at the San Marino MotoGP, robbing Ducati of their first win at the Misano circuit in over a decade.

Pouring rain greeted the riders at the start of the San Marino MotoGP, a race in which Jorge Lorenzo held the early advantage.

Although Maverick Vinales, Andrea Dovizioso and Marquez started on the front row of the grid, it was Lorenzo, P5 on the grid, who showed the better pace at the start of Sunday's 28-lap race as he muscled past to take the early lead in the wet.

With little to lose in the championship, Lorenzo pressed hard to build up an advantage over Marquez, who was dogged by Dovizioso and Petrucci.

While Petrucci attacked Dovizioso and Marquez to run second, Lorenzo's afternoon came to an early end as he suffered a high-side, crashing out of the lead.

Petrucci immediately set about trying to build a gap to Marquez and Dovizioso while Loris Baz crashed out of sixth place, losing the front end of his Ducati at Turn 8 in the wet.

Midway through the race, with a drier line beginning to appear, it was Petrucci, Marquez and Dovizioso battling for the victory with the trio nine seconds ahead of pole-sitter Vinales in fourth.

A wobble from Dovizioso through the second sector allowed for Petrucci and Marquez to race to the line as the only two riders in contention for the victory.

The Honda rider ran the OCTO Pramac Racing rider close, and made his move into the first corner at the start of very last lap.

He raced to the victory by 1.1 seconds, putting in a final fastest lap, to beat Petrucci with Dovizioso third.

The result means the Marquez and Dovizioso are tied at the top of the riders' standings with 199 points.

Vinales was fourth ahead of Michele Pirro, Jack Miller, Scott Redding and Alex Rins. Jonas Folger and Bradley Smith completed the ten while Johann Zarco claimed the final point as he crossed the line on foot and pushing his bike.

Hector Barbera, Aleix Espargaro and his Aprilia Racing team-mate Sam Lowes added their names to the list of crashers along with Andrea Iannone and Tito Rabat.