Country profile: Philippines

Twelve athletes in seven disciplines will carry the hopes of the Philippines at the 2016 Olympics in Rio de Janeiro.

Philippines have attended every Summer Olympics since their debut in 1924 aside from the widely-boycotted 1980 Games, with David Nepomuceno the sole participant at the 1924 Games in Amsterdam.

Philippines have not won a medal since Mansueto Velasco claimed silver in the men’s light flyweight boxing division at the 1996 Olympics in Atlanta.

Boxing has accounted for five of Philippines nine medals at the Olympics, and five of the last six. It’s Rogen Ladon (light flyweight) and Charly Suarez (flyweight) who will be flying the Filipino flag in the ring in Rio.

Table tennis ace Ian Lariba will be the flag bearer for the Philippines.

Athletes participating in Rio:

Athletics: Eric Shauwn Cray, Mary Joy Tabal, Marestella Torres
Boxing: Rogen Ladon, Charly Suarez
Golf: Miguel Tabuene
Swimming: Jessie Lacuna, Jasmine Alkhaldi
Table Tennis: Ian Lariba
Taekwondo: Kirstie Alora
Weightlifting: Nestor Colonia, Hidilyn Diaz