Kings name squad for Jaguares trip

Marquez suffers big crash in MotoGP Australian GP FP1

Kings head coach Deon Davids has announced his 25-man touring squad for their trip to Argentina to face the Jaguares on Saturday.

The squad includes Edgar Marutlulle and Sti Sithole, both of whom missed out on the home match against the Lions last week due to injury.

Stefan Willemse, who has featured at both second-row and flanker, is also part of the touring squad, along with number eight Aidon Davis.

Davids added that backline players Elgar Watts and Jaco van Tonder are named.

"At full-back we have Jaco van Tonder, we know he can play at 15 and hasn't had a chance to start there yet this year, and Leighton Eksteen, who can come in as a back-up," he told the Kings website on Tuesday.

"We felt that, at this point of time, we want to give Jaco a chance and see how he is doing.

Davids said Jurgen Visser had been training really well and would most likely return to the structures going forward.

"He is kicking well and brings a lot of experience to the team, so we will be looking at him going forward," he said.

The coach revealed the loss of Malcolm Jaer affected the squad selection and showed what impact he had had on the team.

"We gave him an opportunity at full-back this past week, and he did some good things, but going forward, at this point of time, he has proven himself at wing," Davids said.

"He has been good under the high ball and good with ball in hand, but he is now not available for six weeks so we have to look at other options."

He added on the prospect of facing the Jaguares: "They have a good forward pack and will definitely come at us with driving mauls. They're an internationally experienced side, they love ball in hand, they love using the width of the field and love a quick game.

"We will just have to be very alert and very aware of what is happening in front of us and will have to work very hard within our structures and systems."

Kings touring squad: Schalk Ferreira, Jacobus Adriaanse, Sti Sithole, Tom Botha, Justin Ackerman, Edgar Marutlulle, Martin Bezuidenhout, Martin Ferreira, Steven Sykes, JC Astle, Elgar Watts, Chris Cloete, CJ Velleman, Thembelani Bholi, Louis Fouche, Ntando Kebe, Leighton Eksteen, Stefan Willemse, Shane Gates, Stefan Watermeyer, Aidon Davis, Luzuko Vulindlu, Jaco van Tonder, James Hall, Lukhanyo Am.