No Indy on provisional 2016 MotoGP calendar

Dorna has released the provisional calendar for the 2016 MotoGP season, which will consist of 18 rounds with Austria joining the show and Indianapolis falling away.

Qatar's Losail International Circuit is pencilled in to host the season opener on 20 March while Ricardo Tormo in Valencia, Spain, will host the finale on 6 November.

Other changes will see Indianapolis, which joined MotoGP in 2008, dropped with the Red Bull Ring in Austria effectively replacing it.

The British round at Silverstone switches from late August to the middle of July while race day at the Dutch TT at Assen will now also take place on a Sunday instead of Saturday.

The season will conclude with a triple header consisting of Japan, Australia and Valencia.

Provisional 2016 calendar:
20 March – Qatar (Losail)
3 April – Argentina (Río Hondo)
10 April – America (Circuit of the Americas)
24 April – Spain (Jerez)
8 May – France (Le Mans)
22 May – Italy (Mugello)
5 June – Catalunya (Barcelona)
26 June – Netherlands (Assen)
10 July – Germany (Sachsenring)
17 July – Britain (Silverstone)
14 August – Austria (Red Bull Ring)
21 August – Czech Republic (Brno)
11 September – San Marino (Misano)
25 September – Aragon (MotorLand)
9 October – Malaysia (Sepang)
16 October – Japan (Motegi)
23 October – Australia (Phillip Island)
6 November – Valencia (Ricardo Tormo)