Marquez edges Lorenzo at Misano

Marc Marquez topped the timesheet in Friday's opening practice at the Misano World Circuit Simoncelli but only just with Jorge Lorenzo less than a tenth behind.

Friday's first practice for the San Marino MotoGP got off to a delayed start following a red flag stoppage in Moto3.

Taking to the newly resurfaced track, it wasn't long before Marquez was up into the P1 slot.

A 1:33.577 for the reigning World Champion put him 0.226s ahead of title protagonist Lorenzo while Dani Pedrosa slotted into third place, a further two-tenths down.

Championship leader Valentino Rossi was 11th midway through FP1, 1.1s off the pace.

Heading into the second half of the session, the Italian began to make inroads, moving up the order to fourth place.

Marquez responded with a 1:33.328 to top the timesheet at the end of the session while Lorenzo also found some added pace to close the gap to just 0.094s.

Michele Pirro, racing for the Ducati Team, was a surprise in third place, 0.469s down, while Pedrosa finished fourth.

Andrea Dovizioso was fifth for Ducati ahead of Rossi and the Yamaha of Pol Espargaro.

There was drama for Claudio Corti as he went down at Turn 9 in a high-speed crash. He walked away unhurt.

01 Marc MARQUEZ Repsol Honda Team 1'33.328    
02 Jorge LORENZO Movistar Yamaha MotoGP 1'33.422 +0.094
03 Michele PIRRO Ducati Team 1'33.797 0.469
04 Dani PEDROSA Repsol Honda Team 1'33.930 0.602
05 Andrea DOVIZIOSO Ducati Team 1'34.015 0.687
06 Valentino ROSSI Movistar Yamaha MotoGP 1'34.086 0.758
07 Pol ESPARGARO Monster Yamaha Tech 3 1'34.094 0.766
08 Bradley SMITH Monster Yamaha Tech 3 1'34.266 0.938
09 Cal CRUTCHLOW LCR Honda 1'34.282 0.954
10 Andrea IANNONE Ducati Team 1'34.319 0.991
11 Scott REDDING EG 0,0 Marc VDS 1'34.482 1.154
12 Hector BARBERA Avintia Racing 1'34.590 1.262
13 Danilo PETRUCCI Octo Pramac Racing 1'34.748 1.420
14 Maverick VIÑALES Team SUZUKI ECSTAR 1'34.869 1.541
15 Eugene LAVERTY Aspar MotoGP Team 1'34.885 1.557
16 Yonny HERNANDEZ Octo Pramac Racing 1'34.931 1.603
17 Alvaro BAUTISTA Aprilia Racing Team Gresini 1'34.988 1.660
18 Loris BAZ Forward Racing 1'35.048 1.720
19 Aleix ESPARGARO Team SUZUKI ECSTAR 1'35.063 1.735
20 Mike DI MEGLIO vintia Racing 1'35.226 .898
21 Jack MILLER LCR Honda 1'35.421 2.093
22 Nicky HAYDEN Aspar MotoGP Team 1'35.427 2.099
23 Karel ABRAHAM AB Motoracing 1'35.628 2.300
24 Stefan BRADL Aprilia Racing Team Gresini 1'35.992 2.664
25 Alex DE ANGELIS E-Motion IodaRacing Team 1'36.239 2.911
26 Claudio CORTI Forward Racing 1'38.358 5.030