Lindeman victorious on stage seven

UFC: Michelle Waterson looking to remain focused with doubts remaining over main event clash with Joanna Jedrzejczyk

Bert-Jan Lindeman (LottoNL-Jumbo) finally converted a breakaway into a stage victory as he claimed stage seven of the Vuelta a Espana on Friday.

The Dutchman was involved in two other breaks earlier in the race, but on this occasion survived the day's mountain test to take the victory ahead of Ilia Koshevoy (Lampre-Merida) in second and Fabio Aru (Astana) in third.

Aru was able to attack from a group of general classification favourites to gain some valuable time over his rivals.

Esteban Chaves (Orica-GreenEdge) still leads Tom Dumoulin (Giant-Alpecin) by 10 seconds overall, while Dan Martin (Cannondale-Garmin) follows in third, 33 seconds back.

Chaves finished safely in the main group along with Nairo Quintana (Movistar) and Alejandro Valverde (Movistar).

Chris Froome (Team Sky) and Tejay van Garderen (BMC Racing) lost time after both riders were distanced inside the final two kilometres.

There was controvercy on the day as breakaway rider Antoine Cousin (Europcar) was involved in a collision with a race motorbike on the day's final climb.

Cousin's fall left just Koshevoy and Lindeman out in front, and it was the latter who held firm to take the win.

Stage seven results

1 Bert-Jan Lindeman (Ned) LottoNL-Jumbo    5:10:24     
2 Ilia Koshevoy (Blr) Lampre-Merida 0:00:09     
3 Fabio Aru (Ita) Astana 0:00:29     
4 Jerome Cousin (Fra) Europcar 0:00:34     
5 Rafal Majka (Pol) Tinkoff-Saxo 0:00:36     
6 Esteban Chaves (Col) Orica-GreenEdge          
7 Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar          
8 Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar          
9 Louis Meintjes (RSA) MTN-Qhubeka          
10 Nicolas Roche (Irl) Team Sky

General Classification after stage seven

1 Esteban Chaves (Col) Orica-GreenEdge 27:06:13     
2 Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Giant-Alpecin 0:00:10     
3 Dan Martin (Irl) Cannondale-Garmin 0:00:33     
4 Nicolas Roche (Irl) Team Sky 0:00:36     
5 Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar 0:00:49     
6 Joaquim Rodríguez (Spa) Katusha 0:00:56     
7 Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar 0:00:57     
8 Fabio Aru (Ita) Astana          
9 Daniel Moreno (Spa) Katusha 0:01:18     
10 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) AG2R-La Mondiale 0:01:19