Lorenzo outpaces Marquez in FP2

After coming off second best to Marc Marquez in the first practice session, Jorge Lorenzo grabbed the fastest time in FP2 at Silverstone on Friday.

Yamaha's Lorenzo was 0.388s down on his rival countryman in the earlier session, but emerged 0.033s quicker in the afternoon. 

The two Spaniards once again look set to go head-to-head for the British GP title in 2015.

Lorenzo made a flying start to the session, going 0.6s quicker than Marquez on only his second lap. He would find a further two-tenths later in the session, and though Marquez also improved, posting his fastest time on lap 10 of 17, it wasn't enough to reclaim the top spot.

Local favourite, Tech 3's Bradley Smith, was much improved in the afternoon, grabbing the third fastest time of the session on his 13th lap, just under two-tenths down on Lorenzo. 

Marquez's Repsol Honda team-mate Dani Pedrosa was pushed down to fourth by Smith's lap, while Ducati's Andrea Dovizioso posted the fifth quickest lap, as he went 1.5s faster than he managed in the morning.

Team Suzuki Ecstar's Aleix Espargaro claimed sixth place, just ahead of his brother Pol for Monster Yamaha Tech 3.

Dovizioso's team-mate Andrea Iannone fell midway through the afternoon session, and though he recovered to re-join the circuit and return to the pits, he had to settle for eight place.

Brit Scott Redding claimed ninth, edging out joint-championship leader Valentino Rossi, who could do no better than 10th.


1 Jorge Lorenzo Movistar Yamaha 2m02.338s
2 Marc Marquez Repsol Honda Team 2m02.371s 0.033s
3 Bradley Smith Tech 3 Yamaha 2m02.531s 0.193s
4 Daniel Pedrosa Repsol Honda Team 2m02.573s 0.235s
5 Andrea Dovizioso Ducati 2m02.761s 0.423s
6 Aleix Espargaro Suzuki 2m02.872s 0.534s
7 Pol Espargaro Tech 3 Yamaha 2m02.972s 0.634s
8 Andrea Iannone Ducati 2m03.219s 0.881s
9 Scott Redding Marc VDS 2m03.284s 0.946s
10 Valentino Rossi Movistar Yamaha 2m03.327s 0.989s
11 Danilo Petrucci Pramac Racing 2m03.339s 1.001s
12 Maverick Vinales Suzuki 2m03.391s 1.053s
13 Hector Barbera Avintia Racing 2m03.618s 1.280s
14 Jack Miller LCR 2m03.656s 1.318s
15 Cal Crutchlow LCR 2m03.748s 1.410s
16 Eugene Laverty Aspar 2m03.877s 1.539s
17 Yonny Hernandez Pramac Racing 2m03.878s 1.540s
18 Loris Baz Forward Racing 2m03.977s 1.639s
19 Mike Di Meglio Avintia Racing 2m04.216s 1.878s
20 Stefan Bradl Aprilia 2m04.416s 2.078s
21 Alvaro Bautista Aprilia 2m04.885s 2.547s
22 Nicky Hayden Aspar 2m05.295s 2.957s
23 Karel Abraham AB Motoracing 2m05.396s 3.058s
24 Alex de Angelis IodaRacing Project 2m05.820s 3.482s
25 Claudio Corti Forward Racing