Ackermann keeps the faith

”I guess I’m not doing fine’ – Osaka on being world no.1

Lions head coach Johan Ackermann has named an unchanged starting side for their Super Rugby clash with the Kings at Ellis Park on Friday.

Ackermann's in-form team defeated the Sharks 37-10 last weekend in an impressive performance that wrapped up Africa 2 with time to spare.

And the coach was clearly pleased with his players' effort as he keeps faith with the side that will once again be led by flanker Jaco Kriel.

Ruan Ackermann continues at number eight in the absence of the injured Warren Whiteley while Faf de Klerk and Elton Jantjies line up together, with Rohan Janse van Rensburg and Lionel Mapoe in the centres and Courtnall Skosan, Ruan Combrinck and Andries Coetzee in behind.

Lions: 15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Ruan Combrinck, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Rohan Janse van Rensburg, 11 Courtnall Skosan, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Ruan Ackermann, 7 Warwick Tecklenburg, 6 Jaco Kriel (c), 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Andries Ferreira, 3 Julian Redelinghuys, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Dylan Smith
Replacements: 16 Armand Van Der Merwe, 17 Corne Fourie, 18 Jacques van Rooyen, 19 Lourens Erasmus, 20 Cyle Brink, 21 Ross Cronje, 22 Howard Mnisi, 23 Sylvian Mahuza

Date: Friday, July 8
Venue: Ellis Park, Johanesburg
Kick-off: 19:00 local (17:00 GMT)
Referee: Jaco van Heerden
Assistant Referees: Jaco Peyper, Ben Crouse
TMO: Johann Greeff