Matthews claims stage win

Australian, Michael Matthews, claimed his first ever Tour de France stage win in the 197km tenth stage, while Chris Froome retained the leader’s yellow jersey.

Matthews timed his sprint to the finish perfectly overtaking Peter Sagan on his way to his first stage win.

After the victory Matthews spoke to ITV4.

“It’s unbelievable, the emotion is just sinking in, to have won a stage after two really bad years in the Tour de France,” he beamed.

“I was close to giving up on this race, thinking it was maybe not for me, but today was incredible.

“It was never the plan to go in the breakaway, we were hoping for a bunch sprint after the last climb but we had strong guys, and whoever is up we give them 110%. Daryl Impey and Luke Durbridge gave me everything.

“I have no words.”

Despite narrowly missing out on the stage win, Peter Sagan has claimed the green jersey from Mark Cavendish.

Yellow jersey holder, and defending champion Froome finished in the peloton seven minutes behind the stage winner.

Stage 10 Results:

1. Michael Matthews (Australia / Orica)

2. Peter Sagan (Slovakia / Tinkoff) ST

3. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Norway / Dimension Data)

4. Greg Van Avermaet (Belgium / BMC Racing)

5. Samuel Dumoulin (France / AG2R)

6. Daryl Impey (South Africa / Orica)

7. Luke Durbridge (Australia / Orica)

8. Damiano Caruso (Italy / BMC Racing)

9. Gorka Izagirre (Spain / Movistar)

10. Tony Gallopin (France / Lotto)

General classification after stage 10:

1. Chris Froome (Britain / Team Sky)

2. Adam Yates (Britain / Orica)

3. Daniel Martin (Ireland / Etixx – Quick-Step)

4. Nairo Quintana (Colombia / Movistar)

5. Joaquim Rodriguez (Spain / Katusha)

6. Bauke Mollema (Netherlands / Trek)

7. Romain Bardet (France / AG2R)

8. Sergio Henao (Colombia / Team Sky)

9. Louis Meintjes (South Africa / Lampre)

10. Alejandro Valverde (Spain / Movistar)