Pocock returns to Wallabies squad

Back-row David Pocock is set to make his return from injury after being named in the Wallabies squad for their final Bledisloe Cup Test in Auckland next week.

Pocock and his immediate replacement, Sean McMahon (syndesmosis) have both been included in the squad for the October 22 Test against New Zealand at Eden Park, though considered outside chances of playing.

Wallabies coach Michael Cheika said Pocock was a possibility of playing in Auckland, though McMahon would be less likely.

"They've been called into the squad for this game because there's a chancee that Pocock could be available for this game," he told the Australian Rugby Union's official website.

"McMahon probably a little less but we thought we'd bring him in and get an update on him as well."

Pocock broke his hand in the Wallabies' final home Test of the year, in Perth, on September 17, staying at home while the rest of the team travelled to Pretoria and London.

McMahon's injury came against South Africa the next week, with his early return paving the way for Leroy Houston to make his Wallabies debut at  Twickenham.

The squad's announcement also confirmed the departure of Will Genia to France, the last of the Europe-based Wallabies to return overseas.

Next week's Bledisloe Test falls outside the international Test window, as it is not included in the Rugby Championship.

Genia had been with the squad since before the start of the Rugby Championship and will likely be available for three of the Spring Tour Tests, as prescribed by World Rugby's regulation nine.

Will Skelton is the only other inclusion to the squad for the trip, after being left out of the two-week tour of Pretoria and London.

Australia squad:

Forwards: Allan Alaalatoa, Rory Arnold, Adam Coleman, Kane Douglas, Scott Fardy, James Hanson, Michael Hooper, Sekope Kepu, Tolu Latu, Stephen Moore, Sean McMahon, Dean Mumm, David Pocock, Tom Robertson, Rob Simmons, Scott Sio, Will Skelton, James Slipper, Lopeti Timani

Backs: Quade Cooper, Israel Folau, Bernard Foley, Nick Frisby, Dane Haylett-Petty, Reece Hodge, Samu Kerevi, Tevita Kuridrani, Luke Morahan, Sefanaia Naivalu, Nick Phipps, Henry Speight