Brisbane to host 2017 Bledisloe Cup Test

The Australian Rugby Union announced its 2017 domestic Rugby Championship schedule on Wednesday with Brisbane hosting the third Bledisloe Cup Test.

The Wallabies will host New Zealand in Sydney to open the tournament on August 19, with Perth also confirmed to host the Australia vs South Africa fixture.

Brisbane last hosted a Bledisloe Cup Test in 2014, with the Wallabies going down by one point in Ewen McKenzie’s final game in charge of the national side and Adam Ashley-Cooper winning his 100th cap.

The announcement comes after the confirmation of the June Tests against Scotland, Italy and Fiji, to be held in Brisbane, Sydney and Melbourne.

The venue for the Wallabies’ clash with Argentina is yet to be confirmed, with that decision likely to be made in the new year.

ARU CEO Bill Pulver said it was exciting for fans to be able to see the Wallabies on their home deck for an extra Test.

“Fans can expect some incredible Rugby from this 2017 Rugby Championship schedule, featuring two Bledisloe Cup matches on home soil, the Springboks in Perth where they always attract a strong following, and a soon-to-be-confirmed clash with Argentina," he told the Australian Rugby Union's official website.

“This competition sets the standard in international rugby for the rivalry, skill and flair it showcases. To have the best teams on the planet playing in our backyard is a wonderful opportunity for sports lovers – young and old – to see some of the world’s best rugby first-hand.”

2017 Wallabies Domestic Test Schedule

June Series:

June 10: Wallabies vs Fiji, AAMI Park
June 17: Wallabies vs Scotland, Allianz Stadium
June 24: Wallabies vs Italy, Suncorp Stadium

Rugby Championship and Bledisloe Cup:

August 19: Wallabies vs New Zealand, ANZ Stadium, Sydney 
September 9: Wallabies vs South Africa, nib Stadium, Perth 
September 16: Wallabies vs Argentina, tbc
October 21: Wallabies vs New Zealand, Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane