Abt surges to FanBoost lead

Multi-car crash sends one vehicle into the air

The FanBoost concept is a means where fans can give their favourite driver an extra speed boost by voting for them prior to the race.

The three drivers with the most votes will each receive one five-second 'power boost' per car, temporarily increasing their car's power from 150kw (202.5bhp) to 180kw (243bhp).   

Abt has not won a five-second power boost so far this season, but with his home race taking place at the Tempelhof Airport in Berlin on May 23, his supporters have voted him into pole position.

Nelson Piquet Jr currently holds second place as the NEXTEV TCR driver bids for a third straight FanBoost win.

Third place – and the final FanBoost winning position – is Nick Heidfeld, a three-time FanBoost winner for Venturi.

Bubbling under just outside the top-three are Virgin Racing's Sam Bird and Andretti's Jean-Eric Vergne.

With three days still to go there's plenty of time for the order to change.