Valdez, Gonzaga, Maraño banner PH team in SEA Games as Dimaculangan, Reyes return

The Larong Volleyball sa Pilipinas Inc. released today the official lineup of the Philippine national women’s volleyball team competing in the upcoming 30th Southeast Asian Games.

Bannering the tricolor squad for the third time in the biennial meet are mainstays Alyssa Valdez, Jovelyn Gonzaga, Aby Maraño, and the returning Rhea Dimaculangan, who will serve as the second setter following the cut of Alohi Robins-Hardy and Jasmine Nabor from the squad.

Jia Morado will orchestrate the national team’s offensive arsenal for the second time in the SEA Games. Also representing the Philippines in the regional tournament for the second year are open spiker Ces Molina, 2019 ASEAN Grand Prix second leg Best Libero Dawn Macandili, and the returning Mika Reyes.

ASEAN Grand Prix Best Middle Blocker Majoy Baron and Maddie Madayag will man the middle for the tricolor squad for the first time in the biennial meet, together with fellow newcomers Kalei Mau, Eya Laure, and Kat Arado.

On the other hand, mainstay Mylene Paat will compete in her first SEA Games, while two-year national team head coach Shaq Delos Santos is set to call the shots in his first time in the regional tournament.

The Philippine national team recently staged back-to-back bronze medal finishes in the inaugural ASEAN Grand Prix, and is looking for their first championship since 1993.

The nationals will fly to Japan on Oct. 20 for a training camp as part of their preparation for the upcoming biennial meet on November.

Can’t get enough of the latest sports action in the local and international scene? Join our Facebook Group Tagay Sports and hop in on the discussion with fellow passionate sports aficionados.