Valdez, Maraño to banner PH volleyball team

National volleyball team skipper Aby Maraño will be joined by collegiate rival Alyssa Valdez in leading the national team to greater heights after the 20-man pool that will form the core of the national team was announced today by the Larong Volleyball sa Pilipinas Inc. (LVPI).

Maraño will be donning the tricolors with former national players Kim Fajardo, Maika Ortiz, Rhea Dimaculangan, Ces Molina, Kianna Dy, Denden Lazaro, Mika Reyes, Japan-bound Jaja Santiago and AVC Asian Senior Women’s Volleyball Champiosnhip 2nd Best Libero Dawn Macandili for another tour of duty.

Myla Pablo, Dindin Manabat and Jia Morado, who all missed international stints last year, also made the cut to play alongside newcomers Becca Rivera, Mylene Paat and Majoy Baron while former PSL All Stars member Cha Cruz and MJ Phillips are also tapped.

Only 14 from the pool will be selected to banner the flag in the forthcoming Asian Games in August and AVC Asian Cup in September.

The squad will be under the tutelage of coach Shaq de los Santos and is expected to join the Philippine Superliga Invitationals Cup 2018 which kicks off on June 23 as guest team as preparation for their upcoming international campaign.