Look: UP WVT announces UAAP Season 81 lineup

They are ready to come out on top once again.

The University of the Philippines Lady Maroons are set to fight as they announced their lineup for the upcoming UAAP Season 81 women’s volleyball tournament.

The Lady Maroons will enter the tournament as serious contenders for the crown after the squad achieved pre-season success, winning both the 2018 PVL Collegiate Conference and the 2018 PSL Collegiate Grand Slam titles.

Leading the team are senior wing spikers Isa Molde and co-captain Tots Carlos who led the Diliman squad in their pre-season championships, with Molde hailed as the Conference and Finals MVP in the PVL Collegiate Conference and Carlos as the PSL Collegiate Grand Slam MVP.

Posted by Philippine Volleyball Updates on Thursday, 20 December 2018

The squad also includes veteran setter and co-captain Ayel Estranero and power hitter Marian Buitre, with both players playing their final year. Third year Rem Cailing will also help Estranero in setting up plays for the Lady Maroons.

Meanwhile, PSL Collegiate Grand Slam 1st Best Middle Blocker Aie Gannaban will team up with Marist Layug, Jessma Ramos, and Lorie Bernardo in wreaking havoc in the middle. Wing spikers Justine Dorog, Roselyn Rosier, and Caca Sandoval also seek to create damage for UP.

On the other hand, rookies Rem Altomea and Mirgie Bautista seek to defend the back court for the Diliman squad.

With almost a four-decade drought in the league, head coach Godfrey Okumu and the Lady Maroons hope to capture UP’s first UAAP championship since Season 45.

(File photo)

Watch all three FOX Sports channels live on the FOX+ app. For more info on FOX+, click here or to start your free 30 day trial, download the FOX+ app.