Petron bags back-to-back Grand Prix crown

In 2015, Petron gunned for a follow-up to its 2014 Grand Prix feat. Backed by the local troika of Dindin Santiago-Manabat, Rachel Ann Daquis and Aby Marano and reinforced by Brazilian imports Erica Adachi and Rupia Inck, the then Tri-Active Spikers are very much capable of going back-to-back.

But it was not meant to happen. Completing a Cinderella run, Lindsay Stalzer and the Foton Tornadoes blocked Petron’s attempt after winning the best-of-three Finals series.

Four years later, Petron, now Blaze Spikers, shoot for two-peat anew against Stalzer, who is now with F2 Logistics. But this time, the former won’t be denied.

The Blaze Spikers successfully defended their title after outplaying the Cargo Movers in four sets, 26-24, 25-19, 22-25, 25-19, on Saturday in the winner-takes-all Game 3 of the Finals of the Philippine Superliga (PSL) Grand Prix 2019 at the FilOil Flying V Center.
The newly-crowned back-to-back champions kept their eyes on the prize and banked on the prowess of their imports to resist upstart F2 and hoist the import-flavored conference trophy.

Kath Bell and Stephanie Niemer carried the scoring cudgels with a combined 48-point effort to hand the Shaq delos Santos-backed squad its third Grand Prix.

With the win, Petron remained as the most decorated team in the league with eighth overall PSL title while leading F2 Logistics, 4-2, in their 6-conference long Finals head-to-head matchup.

Meanwhile, Stalzer came up with 18 tallies while MJ Perez poured 26 for the Cargo Movers, who settled for silver behind the winning team for two straight conferences.

(Image from Facebook/Philippine Superliga)

Can’t get enough of the latest sports action in the local and international scene? Join our Facebook Group Tagay Sports and hop in on the discussion with fellow passionate sports aficionados.