Foton Tornadoes rebrand to Chery Tiggo, tap Paat, Nabor, Navarro for new PSL season

New season, new look.

In a bid to quench their four-year long thirst for championship, Foton Tornadoes rebranded and will march to the 2020 season of the Philippine SuperLiga (PSL) as Cherry Tiggo Crossovers.

The newly-minted two-time PSL titlist introduced themselves Wednesday afternoon along with their latest acquisitions.

Leading the pack of fresh talents joining the Aaron Velez-headed camp is national team campaigner Mylene Paat together with fellow former Cignal spiker Janine Navarro — both of whom were contributed largely in the HD Spikers’ two podium finishes last season.

They are joined by middle blockers Joy Dacoron and Rachel Austero from Sta. Lucia as PLDT’s Jasmine Nabor will be reunited with fellow National University alumni Jaja Santiago and Dindin Santiago-Manabat.

Cherry Tigo will lean on its recruits and veterans Maika Ortiz, Jen Reyes and Gyzelle Sy alongside Elaine Kasilag, Shaya Adorador, Marianne Buitre, Lai Bendong and Arianne Layug.

The Crossovers, though, will miss the services of the Santiago sisters as they are currently playing for Saitama Ageo Medics and Kurobe AquaFairies, but they are expected to join the fold once their Japan stints are over.

Collegiate players Eya and EJ Laure, Buding Duremdes and Justin Dorog will not see action in the import-laden conference as well as they focus on their respective teams in the forthcoming UAAP Season 82.

The then-Foton Tornadoes last won a medal in 2018 when they emerged back-to-back PSL Grand Prix bronze medalists.

Since, the squad has yet to earn podium feats with their two consecutive fourth place ranking in last year’s tournaments as their best performance as of late.

(Image from Facebook/Chery Tigo Crossovers)