Semifinals cast complete: Petron, F2 with twice-to-beat advantage versus Cignal, Generika

After a month-long top-caliber volleyball action, only four teams were still in contention for the highly-coveted Philippine Superliga (PSL) All-Filipino Conference 2018.

Generika, Petron, Cignal and F2 Logistics emerged as the best among the eight participating teams, completing the semifinals after dismantling separate foes in the quarterfinals.

Petron and F2 Logistics, being the higher seeded teams, have the twice-to-beat advantage when the semifinals round roll on Tuesday.

F2 Logistics will take on a deadly Generika at 4:15 p.m., while Petron locks horn with Cignal at 6 p.m. at the Muntinlupa Sports Center.

The Lifesavers continued their good performance as they ended a three-year drought, making their grand return to the semifinals since their last appearance in 2014.

Fresh from winning the Invitationals, the Cargo Movers, meanwhile, are still eligible to avenge their last year’s Finals loss for their second AFC title.

Generika and F2 Logistics have split up their two meetings this conference, with the Lifesavers pulling off a four-set stunner in the first round and the Cargo Movers exacting a sweet sweep revenge in the second.

The trio of Patty Orendain, Fiola Ceballos and Araneta of Generika will go up against F2’s Ara Galang, Cha Cruz and Mich Morente while the Riri Meneses-Mikaella Lopez duo wage into a war at the net against Majoy Baron and Aby Maraño.

Kim Fajardo and April Ross Hingpit will takeover the setting duties for their squads, while Dawn Macandili of the Cargo Movers and Kath Arado of the Lifesavers man the floor.

Shooting for back-to-back feat, the Blaze Spikers are looking to defend their title as they entered the semifinals for fifth straight indoor conference.

But the road will not be easy a cakewalk for the reigning champions with the sizzling hot HD Spikers in sight.

The HD Spikers bucked a slow start in the conference, stretched their victories until the quarterfinals and clinched a semifinals seat as they hunt for their second PSL title.

Petron’s Ces Molina will lead Bernadeth Pons, Aiza Maizo, Mika Reyes and Remy Palma in a offensive battle against Cignal’s Rachel Ann Daquis, Mylene Paat, Honey Royce Tubino and Roselyn Doria.

In the playmaking department, Rhea Dimaculangan and Acy Masangkay look to outplay one another, while Buding Duremdes and Jheck Dionela compete in defending the floor.

Who will move to the Finals?

Watch all three FOX Sports channels live on the FOX+ app. For more info on FOX+, click here or to start your free 30 day trial, download the FOX+ app.