8 ex-Lady Eagles to take flight in PSL Grand Prix 2019

8 products of the Ateneo de Manila University volleyball program are set to take flight in the upcoming Philippine Superliga (PSL) Grand Prix 2019.

Former Lady Eagles Denden Lazaro, Michelle Morente, Jho Maraguinot, Amy Ahomiro, Aeriel Patnongon, Marge Tejada, Jamie Lavitoria and Ria Lo are billed to spread their wings when the import-laden conference unfolds.

The Katipunan-honed talents have had a mini-reunion and posted for a photo together during the fun-filled PSL Grand Fans Day held at the Sta. Lucia Grand East Mall yesterday.

Lazaro, Morente, Ahomiro and Patnongon were all part of the squad that gave Ateneo its first championship during its Cinderella run in the UAAP Season 76 against perennial rival De La Salle University.

A year later, Maraguinot joined her seniors as they completed a rare 16-0 tournament sweeep to become back-to-back UAAP champions.

Lo and Lavitoria, meanwhile, bannered the Lady Eagles during the last three UAAP seasons, helping the team reach two Finals appearances in Seasons 78 and 79.

Now all out of UAAP, these former Lady Eagles will suit up for different squads in the prestigious Grand Prix tourney.

Ex-BanKo middle blocker Ahomiro recently moved to United Volleyball Club to join Tejada and Patnongon, who have been playing for the then Cocolife since 2017.

Foregoing their remaining playing years in the UAAP, Maraguinot and Lo entered the Sta. Lucia camp while Lavitoria plays for Generika.

Playing for rival heavyweight teams, Lazaro is tipped to power the defense of reigning champions Petron against Morente and F2 Logistics.

The PSL Grand Prix officially opens on February 16.

(Photo crecit: Twitter/Amy Ahomiro)

Watch all three FOX Sports channels live on the FOX+ app. For more info on FOX+, click here or to start your free 30 day trial, download the FOX+ app.