As Lady Spikers closes Thailand training camp, who will make the final cut for UAAP Season 82?

In the past, the De La Salle University (DLSU) Lady Spikers have opted to hold their training camp in Baguio City as part of their UAAP women’s volleyball tournament preparations.

While other squads train abroad such as in Thailand and Japan, the Lady Spikers settled in Baguio City, and it has worked for them as they are now 11-time champions — the third-winningest in the league.

But this year, they decided it’ll be different.

La Salle is leaving no stones unturned ahead of UAAP Season 82 as it held a one-week training camp in Thailand from January 2-10.

Leading the 18-woman strong roster who faced the likes of Australia women’s volleyball national team and Thai club 3BB Nakornnont are graduating veterans Tin Tiamzon, Aduke Ogunsanya, and CJ Saga along with Michelle Cobb and Rovie Instrella.

Also present were sophomore players Jolina dela Cruz, Marione Alba, Erika Santos and Ynna Hatulan as the other half of the trainees were compromised of rookies.

Among these rookies were Thea Gagate, Fifi Sharma, Leila Cruz and Justine Jazareno, who were all part of the DLSU starting unit that struck gold in the 2019 UniGames in Iloilo City, as Matet Espina, Baby Jane Soreño, Alister Borabo, Julia Coronel and Maicah Larroza completed the pool.


View this post on Instagram


You all look so happy and contented

A post shared by Benito Araneta (@br.araneta) on Jan 8, 2020 at 3:31am PST

From 18, head coach Ramil de Jesus will further trim the pool to 14 when they march to the UAAP next month.

Who will make the cut?

The Lady Spikers are coming off a third place finish last season after getting dethroned by the University of Sto. Tomas in the semifinals and missing the Finals for the first time in 10 years.

The green-and-white squad also lost Desiree Cheng, who maxed out her eligibility, and one-and-done player Des Clemente while May Luna and Julia Ipac have both opted to forego their last playing years.

(Image from Twitter/DefenderDLSU)